indian cricket team


The Indian cricket team, also known as Team India and Men in Blue, represents India in international cricket. Governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), it is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Test, One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) status.

Although cricket was introduced to India by European merchant sailors in the 18th century, and the first cricket club was established in Calcutta in 1792, India’s national cricket team did not play its first Test match until 25 June 1932 at Lord’s, becoming the sixth team to be granted Test cricket status. In its first fifty years of international cricket, India was one of the weaker teams, winning only 35 of the first 196 Test matches it played. From 1932 India had to wait until 1952, almost 20 years for its first Test victory. The team, however, gained strength in the 1970s with the emergence of players such as batsmen Sunil Gavaskar and Gundappa Viswanath, all-rounder Kapil Dev and the Indian spin quartet namely Erapalli Prasanna, Srinivas Venkataraghavan, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar and Bishen Singh Bedi.

Traditionally much stronger at home than abroad, the Indian team has improved its overseas form since the start of the 21st century, winning Test matches in Australia, England and South Africa. It has won the Cricket World Cup twice – in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev and in 2011 under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. After winning the 2011 World Cup, India became only the third team after West Indies and Australia to have won the World Cup more than once,[8] and the first cricket team to win the World Cup at home. It has won the 2007 ICC World Twenty20 and 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, under the captaincy of Dhoni. It was also the joint champions of 2002 ICC Champions Trophy, along with Sri Lanka.

As of 20 December 2016, India is ranked first in Tests, third in ODIs and second in Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) by the ICC.[9] Virat Kohli is the current captain of the team in Tests while Dhoni is the ODI and T20I captain. The Indian cricket team has rivalries with other Test-playing nations, most notably with Pakistan, the political arch-rival of India. However, in recent times, rivalries with nations like Australia, England and South Africa have also gained prominence

Bilateral series and tours
Date Against H/A/N Results [Matches]
Test ODI T20I
January 2016  Australia Away 1–4 [5] 3–0 [3]
February 2016  Sri Lanka Home 2–1 [3]
June 2016  Zimbabwe Away 3–0 [3] 2–1 [3]
July–Aug 2016  West Indies Away 2–0 [4] 0–1 [2]
September–October 2016  New Zealand Home 3–0 [3] 3–2 [5]
Nov 2016–Feb 2017  England Home 4–0 [5] [3] [3]
February 2017  Bangladesh Home [1]
Feb–Mar 2017  Australia Home [4]
July 2017  West Indies Away [5] [1]
August 2017  Sri Lanka Away [3] [5] [1]
October 2017  Australia Home [5] [1]
Multiteam series and tournaments
Date Series Format Position Results [Matches]
Feb–Mar 2016 2016 Asia Cup T20I Champions 5–0 [5]
Mar–Apr 2016 2016 ICC World Twenty20 T20I Semifinalists 3–2 [5]
June 2017 2017 ICC Champions Trophy ODI