Pakistan a glaring omission from this year’s Sultan Azlan Shah Cup


A total of six countries will compete in this year’s Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, which is set to be held from 27 April-6 May. Pakistan is a glaring omission from this year’s cup.

Pakistan finished fifth in 2016 after beating Canada 3-1. Canada will not join this year’s edition either.

According to a Malaysian sports website, the line-up confirmed by the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup organising committee chairman Datuk Abd Rahim Mohd Arif includes Malaysia, Australia, Japan, India, New Zealand and Great Britain.

The number of teams for this year’s cup has decreased by one compared to last year’s tournament where seven teams competed.

However, the Malaysia Hockey Confederation Chief Executive Officer K Logan Raj told Malaysian media that Malaysia’s target is to at least finish in the top four.

Talking to Pakistan Today, Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) Secretary and former Pakistan captain Shahbaz Ahmed Senior said, “We are not informed about that.” He further added that PHF will talk to the Asian Hockey Federation regarding this.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s