How the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Field Will Be Filled Out


On Monday, the U.S. Men’s National Team learned it will play its three group stage matches of the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup on July 8 in Nashville, Tenn., July 12 in Tampa, Fla., and July 15 in Cleveland, Ohio.

Seeded into Group B, the U.S. is still waiting to find out who they will face as they search for their sixth regional crown. While more than half of the 12-team field is set, there are still five spots up for grabs.

Take a quick look at who’s already in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup and the path left for the remaining teams to qualify.

Who is Qualified

Canada, Mexico and the United States automatically qualify for the Gold Cup in representation of North America. Mexico has been seeded in Group C, while the Group A seed will be determined once the 12-team field is finalized.

Four more teams hailing from CONCACAF’s Caribbean Football Union have also booked their place in the tournament, doing so through the 2017 Caribbean Cup qualification tournament that ran from March to October 2016.

Finalists at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup, Jamaica will take part in their 10th regional championship. The Reggae Boyz will be joined by Martinique, who shocked Trinidad & Tobago 2-0 in extra time on October 11 to advance to their fifth tournament, as well as first-time qualifiers Curacao and French Guiana. The four teams will use the 2017 Caribbean Cup Semifinals and Final in late June to warm-up for July’s Gold Cup.

Still to Qualify

Despite not advancing directly, there is still a chance for one more Caribbean side to book its place at the tournament. After finishing second in their respective Caribbean Cup Qualifying groups, Haiti, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago will take part in a three-game round-robin series from January 4-8 in Couva, Trinidad, with the top team advancing to a playoff against the fifth-place finisher at the 2017 Copa Centroamericana.

2017 CFU Caribbean Cup Fifth Place Playoff
Jan. 4 Jan. 6 Jan. 8
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Suriname Suriname vs. Haiti Haiti vs. Trinidad & Tobago

Set for Jan. 13-22 in Panama City, Panama, the 2017 Copa America Centroamericana will take on a slightly different format this year. With Guatemala still under FIFA suspension, the competition has been simplified to a round-robin tournament where the top four finishers between Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Panama and Nicaragua will earn automatic berths to the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup, while the fifth-place finisher will look forward to the two-leg playoff against their Caribbean counterpart to complete the field.

2017 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana Schedule
Jan. 13 Jan. 15 Jan. 17
Honduras vs. Nicaragua
Costa Rica vs. El Salvador
Panama vs. Belize
Belize vs. Costa Rica
El Salvador vs. Honduras
Panama vs. Nicaragua
El Salvador vs. Belize
Costa Rica vs. Nicaragua
Panama vs. Honduras
Jan. 20 Jan. 22  
Nicaragua vs. Belize
Honduras vs. Costa Rica
Panama vs. El Salvador
Belize vs. Honduras
El Salvador vs. Nicaragua
Panama vs. Costa Rica

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s