Adelaide to host maiden Ashes day-night Test

Lights take over at the Adelaide Oval © Getty Images

The first ever day-nght Ashes Test will be staged at Adelaide Oval next year, following the announcement of the 2017-18 Ashes schedule.

However, the Waca ground in Perth could be set to miss out of hosting the third Test, in favour of the new purpose-built Perth Stadium, subject to ongoing discussions with the Western Australia government.

The series will begin, once again, at the Gabba in Brisbane, on November 23, and will conclude with back-to-back Tests at Melbourne and Sydney over the Christmas and New Year period.

Ashes itinerary 2017-18
1st Test, Gabba – Nov 23-27
2nd Test, Adelaide Oval (d/n) – Dec 2-6
3rd Test, Perth (venue TBC) – Dec 14-18
4th Test, MCG – Dec 26-30
5th Test, SCG – Jan 4-8

As has been the case in previous Ashes campaigns, England’s tour party will be given ample opportunity to acclimatise before the series begins, with several warm-up fixtures set to be built into the final itinerary.

“We recognise how big the Ashes is for both home and travelling fans, and the early announcement of the schedule for this series will allow fans here in Australia and abroad to plan their Ashes summer,” said Cricket Australia’s CEO, James Sutherland.

“This schedule will allow for at least three Sheffield Shield matches to be completed as preparation prior to the first Ashes Test in Brisbane.

“The decision to start the international season in Brisbane, then moving to Adelaide, allows us to give Perth Stadium the best chance to host the Test match, so we can welcome an even bigger crowd to Perth next summer.

“We’re really excited to announce that Adelaide will play host to the first ever Day-Night Ashes Test. We know how much Adelaide fans love this style of Test cricket. We’re expecting a full house next year in what is sure to be a great contest.”

Five one-day internationals have been scheduled in Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide and Perth between January 14 and 28, while a T20 International tri-series involving New Zealand will take place in February.

Three matches will be hosted in Australia, and four including the final in New Zealand. Prior to this, the traditional Prime Minister’s XI will be played at Manuka Oval in Canberra against England as a T20 International match on Friday, February 2.

New Zealand Cricket Chief Executive David White said the Tri Series initiative was a late addition to the programme and too good an opportunity to pass up.

“To host matches against both England and Australia is an exciting development for New Zealand cricket fans,” said Mr White.

“There is a lot of history – and a healthy rivalry between the three sides, and we expect the series to be well supported.”

The Australian Women’s Cricket Team will also host a home Ashes series next season, with that schedule and venues to be confirmed in due course.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s